Login / Register (0)

Nobel Prize for Peace 1901-2018

Map No.


“On 27 November 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace – the Nobel Prizes. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden’s central bank) established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.” (quoted from Nobelprize.org) On 10 December 2018 this year’s main award ceremonies take place in Stockholm and Oslo, adding the latest laureates to the list.

The United States of America are leading the list of Peace laureates, with 21 out of the 124, followed by France (11) and the United Kingdom (10). Germany and Sweden/Ireland complete the top 5, with 6 and 5 – respectively. The Nobel prize for Peace has been awarded to 48 countries, more than in any other Nobel category. This is also the only category with laureates from all parts of the world.


Purchase map use license. Includes high-resolution map.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution - Non Commercial - ShareAlike 4.0 International License. For any commercial use (including in publishing) a map use license needs to be obtained.

Technical Notes

This map shows each country proportional to the numbers of Nobel Prizes for Peace won by citizens from there between 1901 and 2018.

Data sources
This map uses data by The Nobel Institute  (last accessed December 2018). We aim to map as complete data as possible and therefore estimate data for missing values. In some cases, missing data for very small territories is not used in the cartogram and that area is therefore omitted in the map.

Further notes on the data, as well as all modifications to the original data source are noted in our data sheets.

Download data file

Explore More

Back to top

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Your email will only be used for the newsletter and not be passed on to any third parties. Read our privacy statement for more info.