Login / Register (0)

Whales caught between 2012 and 2016

There were only nine countries between 2012 and 2016 allowed to catch whales, two officially doing ‘commercial whaling’, Norway and Iceland among those one. Japan and South Korea are fishing under the ‘special permit’ ruling. North America/Alaska, Canada, Russia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Greenland are whaling with a ‘Aboriginal Subsistence’ permit with respective catch limits.

Between 2000 and 2015 Japan  caught the highest number of whales, 9861 whales, consisting of Minke, Sei and Bryde’s whales, closely followed by Norway with 9120 whales.

Japan is the only country still catching whales in Antarctic waters, catches that have been discussed by the International Court of Justice with Australia and New Zealand intervening.

Read more about this map in our blog


Purchase map use license. Includes high-resolution map.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution - Non Commercial - ShareAlike 4.0 International License. For any commercial use (including in publishing) a map use license needs to be obtained.

Technical Notes

This map shows the proportion of whales caught between 2012 and 2016.

Data sources
This map uses data by International Whaling Commission (last accessed July 2018). We aim to map as complete data as possible and therefore estimate data for missing values. In some cases, missing data for very small territories is not used in the cartogram and that area is therefore omitted in the map.

Further notes on the data, as well as all modifications to the original data source are noted in our data sheets. Data for this map will soon be available as a download.

Download data file

Explore More

Back to top

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Your email will only be used for the newsletter and not be passed on to any third parties. Read our privacy statement for more info.